SLE Ticker

18 Years and counting...Got SL News? Get it Published! Contact Lanai Jarrico at

Thursday, April 28, 2011

MachinUWA III: Journeys

The 3rd UWA Machinima Challenge is rapidly drawing to a close, in fact the closing date 1st May 2011.

The University of Western Australia (UWA) themed their latest machinima challenge simply 'Journeys'. With an amazing prize pool of $L530,000 broken down as follows:

1st Prize $L100,000
2nd Prize $L70,000
3rd Prize $L50,000
+ L$310,000 in other prizes

Entrants were told that defining what a ‘journey’ was, was entirely up to them; A journey through Second Life; A journey of self discovery; A journey within; A journey from SL too RL, or vice-versa; A journey through space, through time, a journey of hope, a journey of despair; Their own journey or a journey by someone else seen through their eyes... or... through Second Life in 80 Days, whatever they could imagine.

Jayjay told me that they have had a fantastic response to their ‘Journeys’ challenge with entries being received from all around the world.

The talent of our fellow SL residents is astounding, take the link below to see for yourself.

The judges for the challenge are:

1. Professor Ted Snell (RL) - Director, Cultural Precinct, The University of Western Australia
2. White Lebed (SL) - Former Lead of Burning Life Art Department, Director of Special Projects @ UWA
3. Jayjay Zifanwe (SL) - Owner of The University of Western Australia (SL), Creator & co-host of the UWA 3D Art& Design Challenge
4. Yesikita Coppola (SL) - Official Machinimatographer for UWA 2011
5. Laurina Hawks (SL) - Reigning UWA MachinimUWA Champion
6. Raphaella Nightfire (SL) - Snr Writer Best of SL Magazine, Owner Sanctorum Gallery (SL)
7. FreeWee Ling (SL) - Curator, UWA 3D Open Art Challenge
8. LaPiscean Liberty (SL) - CEO AviewTV and UWA Media Advisor
9. Nazz Lane (SL) - Journalist and Author
10. Rowan Derryth (SL) - Art & Design Historian; Writer for Prim Perfect Publications
11. Apollo Manga (SL) - Writer & Novelist
12. Dr. Phylis Johnson (RL) - Media Professor, Southern Illinois Uinversity, Author - Machinima: Aesthetics and Practice (a.k.a, Sonicity Fitzroy, SL Virtual Journalist)
13. Lowell Cremorne (SL), Owner & Editor-In-Chief, The Metaverse Journal
14. Mal Burns (SL), Metaverse News Aggregator and Broadcaster
15. Paisley Beebe (SL), CEO of Perfect World Productions TV
16. Flimsey Freenote - CEO of Metamix TV (Mixed Reality Television)

The Winners will be announced by the 30th of May 2011 at a special gala function, so in the meantime we wait in anticipation to see who the winners will be.


Post a Comment

Comments will be reviewed and posted within 24 hours. Please note any abusive content or outside promotional links may not be approved.