STAY IN THE KNOW

Keeping You Up To Speed.

Be Involved In The SL Community

Awareness is Key to Positive Change.

Explore Your Options

Get your REAL experience points HERE!.

CREATIVITY

The Possibilities are Endless.

Find Your Inner Peace

Ground Yourself and Discover New Things

SLE Ticker



18 Years and counting...Got SL News? Get it Published! Contact Lanai Jarrico at lanaijarrico@gmail.com
Showing posts with label Community Virtual Library. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Community Virtual Library. Show all posts

Sunday, August 23, 2020

CYBRARIANS - VIRTUAL LIBRARIANS WORK TO INFORM THE DIGITAL CITIZEN: JOSH (THOMAS1 BELLIC) REPORTING




So…you are tapping away on your computer, working on a research paper for your online class.  You are writing a fluff piece on a rather well-known topic like, “Where did all the antimatter go and its effect on the unified theory of physics?”, when suddenly you hit a snag and need more information about the topic.  Where do you go?  Normally, you might Google the question, but decide you don’t want to wade through 2,354,287 hits. You want professional help. You could go down to your neighborhood public library, and ask Marian the Librarian to point out the reference section on Unified Physics theory.  Unfortunately, due to a worldwide pandemic, Marian finds herself in a high-risk group and decides to close the library and stay home.

Fear not, my fellow intrepid seeker of knowledge. Help is only a few mouse clicks away. Enter the Virtual Librarian.  Fortunately, one of the Metaverses foremost experts in Virtual Library services consented to an interview. Dr. Valerie Hill (Valibrarian Gregg) is a Subject Matter Expert in the field and also happens to be a resident of SecondLife..  I caught up with her the other day and she graciously consented to answer my questions.



Josh Bellic (JB):  So tell me Val, what types of people use virtual libraries?

Valibrarian Gregg (VG):  Good question, Josh. All age groups now access information in digital content, so depending on your definition of a virtual library, everyone uses them.  
One definition (IGI Global) is "A Virtual Library is a collection of resources available on one or more computer systems, where a single interface or entry point to the collections is provided".
The Community Virtual Library is a VIRTUAL WORLD LIBRARY rather than a physical library or online database.  Nearly all physical libraries now provide digital access. such as on a cell phone.
CYBRARIANS - VIRTUAL LIBRARIANS WORK TO INFORM THE DIGITAL CITIZEN:   JOSH (THOMAS1 BELLIC) REPORTING:  What types of services can online virtual librarians offer?

VG: Any services provided in the physical world library can be offered in the virtual world including: exhibits, books, storytelling, writing workshops, seminars, conferences, tours, immersive role play (such as the Dickens Project every year), read-alouds, book discussions, and 3D projects such as Metaliteracy Symbolic Modeling (coming up on Sept 25th at 9am in SL).


JB:  How can a virtual Librarian best assist a researcher?

VG:  Virtual librarians can provide help accessing specific databases or resources in subject areas but, more importantly, can help individuals navigate changing information landscapes.  Digital citizenship requires "metaliteracy"- a new way of accessing and sharing information in digital culture where most content is born digital. Learning to evaluate information and use it ethically is an acquired skill.

JB:  That must require specialized knowledge to be effective? Is there a governing body or accreditation for Virtual Librarians?

VG:  Accreditation and certification requirements vary across the globe but most are standard in requiring an MLS or MLIS (Master of Library Science or Master of Library and Information Science).  In the US and Canada, the MLS or MLIS is required for most librarians in public, academic, or special libraries.
The board members of the Community Virtual Library in Second Life are professional librarians with a master's degree in library and information science (one with a degree in education). Volunteers (friends of the library) are provided training, particularly if they serve at the reference desk.


JB:  Are there any Librarian Groups in the Virtual World?

VG: Second Life Library 2.0 (main group for the Community Virtual Library
ACRL in Second Life (for Assoc of College and Research Libraries virtual world interest group- mostly academic librarians)

JB:  How can someone find a virtual Librarian?

Most academic libraries have a virtual librarian online (sometimes with live chat or through follow up). The Community Virtual Library (CVL) has librarians on duty at the reference desk and trains volunteers to help.  
https://communityvirtuallibrary.org/
In addition, CVL is building a spreadsheet of educators' office hours in virtual worlds to help individuals network and navigate virtual environments for learning.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12Q3CUF1gQ1ua8EGWOuVeFOp9w-DBEI0j73fx_jP5Y60/edit?usp=sharing

JB:  Is there anything else you would like to share with our Readers?

VG:  Yes.  I would like to invite your readers to check out Google Group:  metaverselibraries
Dr. Valerie Hill has researched virtual world libraries since 2007 and her recent book focuses on changing literacy with emphasis on virtual environments.


So there you have it, folks.  Next time you are looking for a recipe for dragonfly soup, or the proper way to store macadamia nuts – or even looking for the secrets of the universe in an “Illustrated Novel” – Ask your friendly Virtual Librarian.  You’ll be glad you did.  And be sure to visit the Community Virtual Library (CVL) at:

See ya in the Stacks! Aloha!
JB

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Community Virtual Library Celebrates "Summer in the Park"



When: Tuesday, August 2, 2016
6:00 pm to 7:30 pm, US/Pacific

Come celebrate our Summer 2016 Exhibit Grand Finale "Libraries and Librarians in Virtual Worlds" alongside friends, colleagues, librarians, and educators in an immersive learning environment.
 
The Community Virtual Library is open to anyone interested in the future of libraries in 3D immersive spaces.  Librarians from around the globe have been networking and exploring the potential for virtual worlds for a decade at CVL. Our goal is to feature exceptional work in virtual worlds to share at CVL and we are hoping to form collaborative relationships with other virtual world groups.
 
All are welcome!

Saturday, July 30, 2016

Community Virtual Library Summer Exhibit 2016


Libraries and Librarians in Virtual Worlds
Grand Finale and TOUR


Date:  Sat. July 30th  9amSLT

Tour the exhibit, meet presenters and colleagues to build your PLN and promote your work in virtual worlds.  All are welcome to attend.  




Valibrarian

Valerie Hill, PhD
President, Community Virtual LIbrary

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Are you interested in virtual world book discussions or looking for a great summer book to read? Book Discussion July 12th at 5:30pm SLT


 Come to the Community Virtual Library!  This book will kick off our new book discussion series.

Book Discussion July 12 at 5:30 pm (SLT)   Led by Lori Bell

Community Virtual Library

TITLE Sisi:  Empress On Her own by Allison Pataki

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Philippa Gregory, Paula McLain, and Daisy Goodwin comes a sweeping and powerful novel by Allison Pataki. Sisi tells the little-known story of Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary, the Princess Diana of her time, in an enthralling work of historical fiction that is also a gripping page-turner.
Married to Emperor Franz Joseph, Elisabeth—fondly known as Sisi—captures the hearts of her people as their “fairy queen,” but beneath that dazzling persona lives a far more complex figure. In mid-nineteenth-century Vienna, the halls of the Hofburg Palace buzz not only with imperial waltzes and champagne but with temptations, rivals, and cutthroat intrigue. Feeling stifled by strict protocols and a turbulent marriage, Sisi grows restless. A free-spirited wanderer, she finds solace at her estate outside Budapest. There she rides her beloved horses and enjoys visits from the Hungarian statesman Count Andr├íssy, the man with whom she’s unwittingly fallen in love. But tragic news brings Sisi out of her fragile seclusion, forcing her to return to her capital and a world of gossip, envy, and sorrow where a dangerous fate lurks in the shadows.

Through love affairs and loss, dedication and defiance, Sisi struggles against conflicting desires: to keep her family together, or to flee amid the collapse of her suffocating marriage and the gathering tumult of the First World War. In an age of crumbling monarchies, Sisi fights to assert her right to the throne beside her husband, to win the love of her people and the world, and to save an empire. But in the end, can she save herself?

Featuring larger-than-life historic figures such as Bavaria’s “Mad King Ludwig” and the tragic Crown Prince Rudolf, and set against many of Europe’s grandest sites—from Germany’s storied Neuschwanstein Castle to England’s lush shires—Sisi brings to life an extraordinary woman and the romantic, volatile era over which she presided.

Saturday, January 2, 2016

SEANCHAI LIBRARY Announces New Literary Adventures in 2016

Seanchai Library's home in The Community Virtual Library
on  Bradley University 
Bradley University, Second Life – Among the longest active literary programs on the Second Life grid, Seanchai Library will be celebrating its 8th anniversary in 2016 with several projects in addition to its regular weekly schedule of literature and stories.  Seanchai Library (Shanna-key, which means "Storyteller" in Irish.) was founded in March of 2008 in Second Life. Thousands of stories, and hundreds of authors later, the program remains dedicated to promoting the power of stories to transform and inspire through live voice presentations: "We bring stories of all kinds to life, in Second Life."

Monday, October 25, 2010

SL ARTS AND LITERATURE: Libraries Can be a Scream!

Who says Librarians are boring? Even virtual Librarians hold the stigma of the little ladies, their hair worn unfashionably tight, with the remarkable ability to humble a grown person with an icy glare over the top of their glasses and a pointed “Shhhh!” No such thing! The Librarians on Info Island have created hauntingly fun “Halloween Scream” on Info Island and will be celebrating this most “spookable” time of year on Friday, October 29th at 6pm SLT with the TX950 - Halloween Scream Costume Party.

The library sciences community in Second Life has embraced the virtual world as a tool to expand resources, and invigorate the library experience. Yes, you can find virtual card catalogues, which are about as imposing at the real kind. You can also find creative environments that enliven a particular subject matter or idea by making in immersive and interactive – encouraging you to explore.


 
cookieassistant.com